tranny noise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tranny noise

Why might I have a loud thrashing noise coming from the transmission area that starts at 40 mph? It will even thrash when coasting down a big hill as long as I am going over 40 mph. I had noise at slow speed when I first got the M1161 that was due to the bent skid plate. I removed the skid plate that was rubbing front drive shaft that looked undamaged and that low speed rubbing noise was gone.

I am not a mechanic so take my suggestions with a grain of salt LOL.

I would check to make sure you are truly in 2 wheel drive and not 4 wheel drive. The front differential gets very noisy at higher speeds in 4WD. You can also check your U-joints. Loose ones tend to make a lot of noise when coasting even if they are quiet under power due to the backlash.

An easy way to test if you are stuck in 4WD is put your front tires on a curb and slowly try to crawl over it. If you are in 2 wheel drive, likely the rear wheels will spin where in 4 wheel drive you will crawl over. You can check the theory by trying in 4 wheel drive vs 2WD.

The last thing I noticed on ours, everything gets loud at 40mph and higher due to all the rattles. The Lifting Rings and Tiedown Rings all rattle like crazy in the wind. Also the winch and pulley rattle around in the wind. We ziptied all the rings and loose parts on one of ours and it was amazing how much quieter the vehicle got.

Good luck and hopefully it is something simple and not an actual transmission or drive train issue.

AR

Comment

I had a couple of odd noises that were quieted after full maintenance. Use the TM manual to be sure you covered all of the lube and fluid check points. I thought my transfer case was having new issues (one of them similar to yours), and it turned-out to be a U-joint. Whew.😅 Don't forget the slip joints. 6 lube points on the shafts just for those two items, and they need regular attention.